Historical appearances of Vyšehrad
The exhibition in the Gothic Cellar presents Vyšehrad in its various historical forms. The oldest exhibits document the stay and activity of people in Vyšehrad as early as the 4th and 3rd millennium BC. On site, visitors can learn more information about the changes of this place, regarding its designation and understanding over time.
The permanent exhibition was prepared by the Vyšehrad National Cultural Monument in cooperation with the Museum of the Capital City of Prague;, the exhibits were lent by the Institute of Archaeology of the Czech Academy of Sciences and the Royal Collegiate Chapter of St. Peter and St. Paul in Vyšehrad.
10 — 18.00
Changes to opening hours over the Christmas and New Year period:
December 24 and 31 10 — 14.00
December 25, 26 and January 1 closed
Barrier-free access from the area in front of the Old Burgrave’s House.
— full — 90 Kč
— reduced — 60 Kč
— family (2 Adults a 2 Children) — 180 Kč
— Children under 6 y.o. — free
The Gothic Cellar
The Gothic cellar is a remain of one of four palace structures built in the area of royal courtyard during the reign of Charles IV in the second half of the 14. century. The space was most probably used as storage while the first floor, nonexistent at present, housed a dinning hall and a chapel in oriel. The structures at royal courtyard were pillaged and destroyed by Hussite troops in 1420. Their ruins were removed during the construction of Baroque fortress.